* * * * *

Estabrook Barry Estabrook
A three-time James-Beard-Award-winning journalist, Barry is the author of Pig Tales: An Omnivore’s Quest for Sustainable Meat, which Alice Waters described as “a beautiful and clear-eyed examination of the world of pigs and pig farming,” and of the best-selling Tomatoland: How Modern Industrial Agriculture Destroyed Our Most Alluring Fruit. He was a contributing editor at Gourmet magazine. His work has also appeared in the New York Times “Dining” section and the New York Times Magazine, Wall Street Journal, Readers’ Digest, Cooking Light, Smithsonian, Eating Well, Men’s Health, Saveur, Gastronomica, TheAtlantic.com and many other national magazines. He has been anthologized eight times in The Best American Food Writing. He lives in rural Vermont.

Fitch Sheree Fitch
Since the publication of her first book, Toes in My Nose, thirty years ago, Sheree Fitch has written over 30 books in a variety of genres and for all ages. Many of Sheree’s children’s books highlight wordplay and joy. In July 2017, she and her husband opened up Mabel Murple’s Book Shoppe and Dreamery in River John, Nova Scotia, converting an old granary and pasture into a space for families and book lovers for the summer season. In October 2019 she will release a book of creative nonfiction for adults entitled You Won’t Always Be This Sad.

MacDonald Ann-Marie MacDonald
Ann-Marie MacDonald is an author, actor and playwright. In 1996 her first novel, Fall on Your Knees, was published by Knopf Canada as part of their inaugural “New Face of Fiction.” Her second novel, The Way the Crow Flies, was published in 2003. An international bestseller and finalist for the Giller Prize, it was also a Good Morning America Book Club pick.
For seven seasons Ann-Marie hosted the CBC documentary series Life and Times. She went on to host and narrate CBC’s Doc Zone for eight seasons. She has acted in celebrated stage productions of Cloud Nine and  Top Girls. Her new novel, Adult Onset, was  released in the fall of 2014. It was a Number 1 Bestseller in Canada.

Miller K.D. Miller
K.D. Miller is the author of two previous short story collections ( Give me Your Answer and Litany in a Time of Plague ), a novel ( Brown Dwarf ), and an essay collection, Holy Writ. Her story collection, All Saints, was shortlisted for the 2014 Rogers Writers' Prize and long-listed for the 2014 Frank O'Connor Award. Her most recent work, Late Breaking, was released by Biblioasis in the autumn of 2018.

Penny Louise Penny
Born in Toronto in 1958, Louise Penny became a journalist with CBC Radio. After leaving the CBC in order to focus on writing, and with the support of her husband Dr. V. M i c h a e l W h i t e h e a d, Still Life was published in 2005. Since then, Louise has written fifteen books in the Armand Gamache series, all set in Québec.
Translated into 29 languages, the novels have won or been shortlisted for most of the major crime fiction awards, including the US Edgars and seven Agathas, the UK Gold Dagger and the Canadian Arthur Ellis. She and her husband founded a Canadian literary prize aimed at encouraging emerging writers.
In February 2017, she was made a member of the Order of Canada. Her novels are international bestsellers topping, among others, the New York Times and Globe and Mail lists. She lives in Knowlton, Quebec.

Rogers Shelagh Rogers
Over the years as a journalist on flagship programs such as Morningside, Sounds Like Canada and This Morning, Shelagh Rogers has travelled the length and breadth of this country, interviewing thousands of Canadians and collecting their stories.
She is currently the host and a producer of the CBC Radio program The Next Chapter, devoted to Canadian writers and songwriters.
In September 2011, Shelagh was named an Officer of the Order of Canada, the country's highest civilian honour, for promoting Canada's rich culture, her volunteer work in adult literacy, fighting against the stigma of mental illness and advocating for Aboriginal reconciliation.

Thuy Kim Thúy
Born in Saigon in 1968, Kim left Vietnam with the boat people at the age of ten and settled with her family in Granby, Quebec.
A graduate in translation and law, she has worked as a seamstress, interpreter, lawyer, restaurant owner, and commentator on radio and television.
Her debut novel, Ru, won the Governor General’s award for French Fiction in 2010.
In 2015, she was made a Knight of the Order of Quebec. She lives in Montreal and devotes herself to writing.

Vanderhaege Guy Vanderhaeghe
Guy Vanderhaeghe is the author of five novels, four collections of short stories, two plays, and one teleplay. He is a three-time winner of the Governor-General’s Award for English language fiction for his collections of short stories, Man Descending and Daddy Lenin, and for his novel The Englishman’s Boy, which was also shortlisted for the Giller Prize and The International Dublin Literary Award. His novel, The Last Crossing, was a winner of the CBC’s Canada Reads Competition. He has also received the Timothy Findley Prize and the Harbourfront Literary Prize, both given for a body of work .

Williams Roger Williams ~ Master of Ceremonies
Born and raised in South Wales, Roger settled in Montreal after completing his doctorate in Cardiff. He enjoyed a thirty-year career at Marianopolis College, teaching a wide variety of English literature courses, while never letting a semester go by without at least one course on the plays of Shakespeare. In retirement he and his wife, Kate, divide their time between Sutton and Lake Memphremagog, where Kate’s family has lived for many decades. Roger’s enthusiasm for Shakespeare has been nurtured by teaching in the Bishop’s University extension program in Knowlton, and giving public seminars to interested audiences.

TICKETS: Brome Lake Books ~ 45 Lakeside Rd, 450-242-2242
E-mail: blb@b2b2c.ca